Cathedral of the Baku and Caspian Eparchy
Russian Orthodox Cathedral in Baku was consecrated for the sake of myrrh-bearing women - women who came on the first day after the Sabbath, to the Tomb of the risen Jesus Christ, with flavors and aromas for the ritual anointing of the body. The Cathedral was built in 1909 on a standard project of architect F.M. Verjbitsky by funds allocated by the Ministry of Defense. Now it is a part of Baku and Azerbaijan eparchy of the Moscow Patriarchate. The Cathedral gained its second life thanks to the attention and support of the Azerbaijani philanthropist and businessman Aydin Kurbanov. On money of that person in 2002-2003 complex repair work was carried out in the Cathedral: a stone carved iconostasis, paintings have been provided and necessary church utensils have been acquired. After the repair work on March 24, 2003 there was held an opening ceremony of renovated temple. The ceremony was attended by the Azerbaijani President Heydar Aliyev, Chairman of the Caucasian Muslims Office Sheikh-ul-Islam Haji Allahshukur Pashazade, and diplomats and employees of accredited diplomatic missions in Azerbaijan, cultural and public figures.
Gothic beauty-church built in 1899 for Baku Lutherans and now is visited by believers from Germany. Not only liturgy is listened here, but also the concerts of the world famous performers are organized at the Chamber Hall at the Lutheran church – Kapelhause, and filmmakers are awarded prestigious prizes under the organ music.
Bibi Heybat Mosque
The mosque located in the Baku Bay dates back to the XIII century, and, at present, is one of the most significant monuments of Islamic architecture, heritage architecture, enriching the culture and history of Azerbaijan. Here are the tombs and graves of revered people. Local people in the past called it the “mosque of Fatima.” Alexander Dumas visiting the mosque in the 40-s of the XIX century described it so. Today it is a place where four members of Prophet Muhammad family have been buried, it takes the third place in the Islamic world for the number of holy graves.
Ejderbey Mosque (Blue Mosque)
Known as the “Goy meschidi” (Blue or Tatar Mosque) in Samed Vurgun Street near the circus was built by Haji Ibrahim Bey Ajdar Ashurbeyov. Construction was carried out from March 1912 to December 1913. Today few people remember that during the construction of the mosque it was called “Ittifaq” (“Union”). Indeed, one of the main goals of its construction was the union of the two main branches of Islam: Sunni and Shiite - the idea that Nadir Shah tried to implement. According to the plan of Ajdar Bey, Shiites and Sunnis (Sunni in Baku are mostly Lezgins and Tatars - hence, Tatar is one of the names of the mosque) could pray together. The project of the mosque was also developed by outstanding Azerbaijani architect Ziverbey Ahmedbeyov and approved in 1911. Precisely this mosque, along with the Taza Pir mosque in Amirjan remained active in the Soviet era. Among other mosques in Baku, it differs with its special harmony, harmony of parts, elegance, proportion, harmony of all the extraordinary appearance. You can watch it for a long time. It is located on a hill which once opened the valley with one-storey buildings, the mosque fits into the landscape.
Red Village, Guba
A little settlement lying on the left bank of the Kudilay river in the north-eastern part of the Big Caucasian mountain range is the only community for the mountain Jews on the territory of the Commonwealth of Independent States.Mountain Jews had settled in the Caucasus more than two thousand years ago, and appeared on the Azerbaijan land only in the 5th century. Those were Orthodox Jews who were practicing not only the writings of the Old Testament, but also Talmud and rabbi beliefs. They spoke the language of the Iranian group – djukhuro, and the base of their social system was a community (kagal) that ruled all spheres of life of mountain Jews. In the 18th century, after the Jewish settlements were destroyed by the armies of Persian King Nadir-Shah, they started to search for new places for their community. At that time Huseyn Ali Khan was ruling the neighbouring kingdom who accepted the Jews under his protection and gave them the land opposite the city of Quba. In 1731 Jews from all around Azerbaijan began to move to Sloboda. In the end, they formed a multinational closed community of the mountain Jews that for the next centuries have preserved their unique material and spiritual culture, their traditions and the language. Three hundred years later Red Village or Krasnaya Sloboda not only remained but also acquired the status of the state monument with rich history and heritage that attracts visitors from different parts of the world. But the Red Village is famous not only for being an oasis of unique national culture, but also its natives. Having a population of 3000 people, hundreds of them from Red Village are well-known politicians, businessmen, scientists, notable figures living and working in different parts of the world: Russia, Israel, USA, Germany, United Kingdom and Azerbaijan.
Georgian Jewish Synagogue
The opening in 2011 a new synagogue was a big event for the followers of Judaism living in Baku, as the synagogue at all times is the most important element in the life of the Jewish community, it is associated with major life cycles of religious Jews.The opening ceremony was attended by the ambassadors of Israel Michael Lavon Lotem, Matthew Bryza, the U.S., and other heads of diplomatic missions accredited in Azerbaijan, as well as the leaders of Jewish organizations in Azerbaijan.
Taza Pir Mosque
Taza Pir Mosque (also Tazapir, Teze Pir, Teze-Pir, Tezepir) is a mosque in Baku, Azerbaijan. It was finished in 1914 and built in honour of the philanthropist. Construction of the mosque was started in 1905 by architect Zivar bey Ahmadbeyov under the patronage of Nabat Khanum Ashurbayova. After the death of the patron, the construction was suspended. Soon, however, it resumed with the support of her son and was completed in 1914. Only 3 years after opening the mosque was closed in connection with the October Revolution in 1917. Over the years the mosque functioned as a cinema and a barn, and since 1943 to present day - as a mosque. Akhund of the mosque is the Grand Mufti of the Caucasus Allahshukur Pashazadeh.Interior of the mosque has an area of 1400 square meters and decorated with ornaments of painting schools of Azerbaijan plus with samples from eastern ornaments. The height of the dome and a half meters. The mihrab and dome of the mosque made of marble, while decorative elements of the mosque, the tops of minarets and labels are made of gold. The dome, on which 6 times written La ilaha ilallah from Muslim proclamation of faith or Shahada, made from Qyzylqaya (Gyzylgaya) stone.
The Church of St. Michael the Archangel
Archangel Church of Baku is one of the oldest surviving churches in the city. Based on indirect evidence, the church was built between the years 1841 and 1849 by the sailors who survived during the shipwreck. The building was joint to two-story caravanserai which was occupied by naval crew, or, as they said, the naval yard. The church building was belonged to the Caspian flotilla, and the church was called Flotskaya.
Address: Nizami 100, Baku. Azerbaijan, AZ 1010
Tel: +994 12 555 12 46,
+994 55 273 54 10
+994 55 836 13 26
+994 55 791 62 63